Westphal Wins Inaugural Laguna Seca 8HR

Jeff Westphal; this year’s record setting GT3 Nurburgring 24HR Pole sitter won the inaugural 8Hrs of California at Laguna Seca in Monterey, CA with Rearden Racing in their Porsche Cayman GT4 MR.

With a field of GT4 cars ready to have a crack at the win in the 8HR enduro, Westphal and team mates: Jeff Kearl & Sean Mcalister (competitors from this seasons Pirelli Drivers Cup) teamed up in one Cayman to fight the best of Aston Martin, Ginetta, and Porsche Competitors. The Trio in their Rearden Porsche Cayman were consistently the fastest of the Mark’s 3 entries. “This being the first year of the California 8 HR at Laguna (Seca), I can see this event growing in size massively over the next year or two. It’s a world famous track, with World famous manufacturers in GT3 and GT4, and top level drivers across the teams. There’s a lot to like about this formula” Explained Westphal.

“My hat is off to my co-drivers and the team at Rearden Racing, they all did a phenomenal job working together from the first practice, with the common goal of making the car easy to drive rather than a sprinter” Said Westphal. This strategy paid off for the #26 Cayman, as Westphal was the highest qualified Porsche, as well as the winner of the event in GT4.

More should be to come with Westphal and Rearden Racing in the future, as the trio has picked up some momentum in Endurance racing, a format new to Kearl and Mcalister.

Thanks to: Rearden Racing, Bell Racing, Hammer Nutrition, TNVC Inc, Sparco USA

Start typing and press Enter to search